Hamilton, Madison, and Jay

This blog is devoted to a variety of topics including politics, current events, legal issues, and we even take the time to have some occasional fun. After all, blogging is about having a little fun, right?

Location: Mesa, Arizona, United States

Who are we? We're a married couple who has a passion for politics and current events. That's what this site is about. If you read us, you know what we stand for.

Wednesday, June 6, 2007

Cloture Vote -- D-e-a-d; UPDATED with roll call vote!

First, before I move to the roll call and the decision, I urge readers to Michelle's site and see the remarks made by Senator Byron Dorgan from North Dakota. This man is a Democrat, and he understands the issues that America is yelling about. He brings up border security, and points out that we have been handed this bill of goods before, and the federal government failed to deliver. He also brings up an important note that up until now, we seemed to have missed.

We hear John McCain. We catch a Ted Kennedy soundbite, or an Arlen Specter soundbite. We look to Trent Lott's near-unforgivable remarks this afternoon.

Anyone notice the similar talking point among all of the quotes? Senator Dorgan reminded both of us about that point. It has nothing to do with regularization. It has abso-tively, posit-lutely nothing to do with security, and making sure the wrong people are not here, and will not gain entry.

No, it is all about "the grand bargain." The "great compromise."

It is about coming together in concensus. Dennis Prager often notes that he prefers clarity to concensus, and so do we. Obviously so does America. We do not care if thay all came together and sang "kumbaya" when they put this bill together. What matters is "is this a good bill." It is not, and Senator Dorgan identifies it as such with what the bill is lacking in terms of teeth and common sense.

And the Senate's decision is .... Cloture NOT reached! We go forward. Get on the phones, and start calling, again. Do not give up until this bill is dead.

I will have the roll call shortly.


UPDATE: Reid is pulling the bill for another day. We win in the end. Time to go back to the drawing board. Still awaiting the roll call. Some surprising votes in the roll call are Kyl, Lott, Webb, Tester and Pryor all voted no. Color me surprised, especially after Trent Lott's comments today.

As an aside, Senator Reid offers a simple defense. "I tried." Yes, we know you did, but as Yoda once remarked "Do, or do not. there is no try." We did not try. We accomplished. We did. And we owe a great deal of credit and acknowledgment to Sen. Dorgan. His speech on the floor of the Senate was spot on.


UPDATE: Taking over for a second while Marcie works on dinner (her night to cook), and The Politco's crypt has this to offer:

Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid (D-Nev.) just pulled the immigration overhaul bill from the floor after it failed to clear a procedural hurdle.

"We bent over backwards" to accomodate Republicans who disliked the bill, Reid said. "We have to figure out a way to get this bill passed."

Sen. Jim DeMint (R-S.C.), one of the top GOP critics of the bill, said: "This is a victory for sanity in this country."

Heh. Sanity is the operative word.

Publius II

UPDATE: We are not crying. We are happy that the Senate came to it's senses:

Ayes are 45, and Nays are 50 ... Still waiting for a roll call. And here it is: (notice all those bolded "nays")

Akaka (D-HI), Yea
Alexander (R-TN), Nay
Allard (R-CO), Nay
Baucus (D-MT), Nay
Bayh (D-IN), Yea
Bennett (R-UT), Nay
Biden (D-DE), Yea
Bingaman (D-NM), Nay
Bond (R-MO), Nay
Boxer (D-CA), Nay
Brown (D-OH), Yea
Brownback (R-KS), Not Voting
Bunning (R-KY), Nay
Burr (R-NC), Nay
Byrd (D-WV), Nay
Cantwell (D-WA), Yea
Cardin (D-MD), Yea
Carper (D-DE), Yea
Casey (D-PA), Yea
Chambliss (R-GA), Nay
Clinton (D-NY), Yea
Coburn (R-OK), Not Voting
Cochran (R-MS), Nay
Coleman (R-MN), Nay
Collins (R-ME), Nay
Conrad (D-ND), Yea
Corker (R-TN), Nay
Cornyn (R-TX), Nay
Craig (R-ID), Nay
Crapo (R-ID), Nay
DeMint (R-SC), Nay
Dodd (D-CT), Yea
Dole (R-NC), Nay
Domenici (R-NM), Nay

Dorgan (D-ND), Nay
Durbin (D-IL), Yea
Ensign (R-NV), Nay
Enzi (R-WY), Not Voting
Feingold (D-WI), Yea
Feinstein (D-CA), Yea
Graham (R-SC), Yea
Grassley (R-IA), Nay
Gregg (R-NH), Nay
Hagel (R-NE), Yea
Harkin (D-IA), Yea
Hatch (R-UT), Nay
Hutchison (R-TX), Nay
Inhofe (R-OK), Nay
Inouye (D-HI), Yea
Isakson (R-GA), Nay
Johnson (D-SD), Not Voting
Kennedy (D-MA), Yea
Kerry (D-MA), Yea
Klobuchar (D-MN), Yea
Kohl (D-WI), Yea
Kyl (R-AZ), Nay
Landrieu (D-LA), Nay
Lautenberg (D-NJ), Yea
Leahy (D-VT), Yea
Levin (D-MI), Yea
Lieberman (ID-CT), Yea
Lincoln (D-AR), Yea
Lott (R-MS), Nay
Lugar (R-IN), Yea
Martinez (R-FL), Yea
McCain (R-AZ), Yea
McCaskill (D-MO), Nay

McConnell (R-KY), Nay
Menendez (D-NJ), Yea
Mikulski (D-MD), Yea
Murkowski (R-AK), Nay
Murray (D-WA), Yea
Nelson (D-FL), Yea
Nelson (D-NE), Yea
Obama (D-IL), Yea
Pryor (D-AR), Nay
Reed (D-RI), Yea
Reid (D-NV), Yea
Roberts (R-KS), Nay
Rockefeller (D-WV), Nay
Salazar (D-CO), Yea
Sanders (I-VT), Nay
Schumer (D-NY), Yea
Sessions (R-AL), Nay
Shelby (R-AL), Nay
Smith (R-OR), Nay
Snowe (R-ME), Nay
Specter (R-PA), Yea
Stabenow (D-MI), Yea
Stevens (R-AK), Nay
Sununu (R-NH), Nay
Tester (D-MT), Nay
Thune (R-SD), Nay
Vitter (R-LA), Nay
Voinovich (R-OH), Yea
Warner (R-VA), Nay
Webb (D-VA), Nay
Whitehouse (D-RI), Yea
Wyden (D-OR), Yea

Check out those votes. Some Republicans are bnot quite as foolish as they sound. You all have a good night, and thank you for joining us at our new site. Be sure to bookmark us, and come back often.



Anonymous Anonymous said...

Let's hope the existing law law will now be enforceed. Congratulations on the new names.

June 7, 2007 at 8:11 PM  

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home